top of page

To Be The Best You Have To Beat The Best


I know there are people out there who are going to disagree with this blog you are about to read, but keep in mind it's my opinion it does not have to be yours.

I compete in the sport of martial arts simply because I love the sport. I love being on the mats, I love the competion part of it. I have some wins under my belt and some losses. I have competed in several states and won. Does that make me the best thirteen year old out there? The answer is NO!

Every time you turn around there is someone claiming they are world champion, best there is out there. There are so many tournaments out there that claim to be national this or world that. All that is, is the name of the tournament. If your competing against the same group of kids at the same tournament time after time that only makes you the best in your area, not the best out there.

You have those parents out there bragging that their kid is the best in the nation. Swearing that all the other kids in the United States are scared to compete against their child. I am here to tell anyone that will listen, I will step on the mat with anyone out there. The only reason for someone to be scared to step on the mat with an oppenent is because they are scared of taking a loss. To me a loss does not mean anything other than I faced someone who was better than me that day, it means I found weaknesses in myself that I need to fix to get better. I was once told by an oppenent I beat in a match "Any day on the mats is a good day".

There are kids and teens all over this country who are putting in work everyday to excel at martial arts, and there is some great talent out there. Just because they are not screaming their successes from the rooftops or traveling all over this country to compete does not mean their not there.

Get out there and do your best, because YOUR best is all that matters.


bottom of page